Skip to main content
Dartmouth-Hitchcock logo
Summer Flowers In This Section

Clear Liquid Diet

PLEASE AVOID RED JELL-O® and ANY liquids that contain red dye

Clear Liquids include:

  • Water
  • Juice that you can see through (examples: apple, cranberry, white grape)
  • No juices containing pulp such as orange, grapefruit, tomato, pineapple, apricot, etc.
  • Jello (gelatin) – any flavor except red
  • Popsicles, ice pops without fruit, or Italian ice (not sherbet)
  • Fat free chicken or beef broth or bouillon
  • Soda
  • Sports drinks without red dye
  • Powdered clear "juice" mixes such as Kool-aid or Crystal Light
  • Coffee or tea with sugar or artificial sweetener but NO dairy (milk, cream or non-dairy creamers)


  • Dairy products (milk, cream, non-dairy creamers, half and half, etc.)
  • Soups such as chicken noodle soups or other soups that contain vegetables, noodles or pasta or tomato. Broths must be clear and "see-through" without particles.
Contact Us