Skip to main content
Dartmouth-Hitchcock logo
Summer Flowers In This Section

Dartmouth-Hitchcock Names Trustee Scholarship Recipients

April 08, 2009
Lebanon, NH

Three physicians, an operating room nurse, and a nurse practitioner, all from Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center (DHMC), have been awarded scholarships to The Dartmouth Institute for Health Policy and Clinical Practice (TDI) for the 2009-2010 academic year. The scholarship awards, which cover the cost of full tuition to TDI's graduate programs, were established by the Dartmouth-Hitchcock Board of Trustees in 2007.

Recipients of the scholarships are:

  • Bruce Andrus, M.D., Director of Preventive Cardiology and co-Director of the Pulmonary Hypertension Clinic
  • Patricia Lanter, M.D., Emergency Medicine
  • Gina Adrales, M.D., Director of Hernia Surgery Center and the Surgical Simulation Laboratory
  • Stephanie Stone, R.N., Operating Room
  • Deborah Pullin, ARNP, Assistant Director and Outreach Coordinator, Child Advocacy and Protection Program (CAPP), Children's Hospital at Dartmouth (CHaD)

"Fulfilling the Dartmouth-Hitchcock mission and vision requires best practice in clinical care, quality, patient education, and the use of proven tools like shared decision-making. It also requires enlightened and empowered physicians and staff, ready to lead in innovation and implementation of the unique ideals of Dartmouth-Hitchcock," said Tom Colacchio, M.D., president of the Dartmouth-Hitchcock Clinic, and Nancy Formella, MSN, RN, president of Mary Hitchcock Memorial Hospital, in a letter announcing this year's scholarships.

The scholarships are intended to speed the integration and implementation of concepts advanced in TDI's unique master's programs into clinical practice at DHMC and other Dartmouth-Hitchcock sites. Upon completion of the program, scholarship recipients will join more than 55 Dartmouth-Hitchcock colleagues who, as TDI alumni, have incorporated their educational experience into innovation and excellence in their specialty areas.

The trustee scholars may complete the program in one year or over three years. As part of their application for the award, they were asked to submit a proposal outlining what they hoped to gain from the process and detailing a three-year plan for implementing what they learned into their work, post-graduation.

James N. Weinstein, D.O., M.S., is Director of TDI and Chair of the departments of Orthopaedic Surgery for DHMC and Dartmouth Medical School. He called the trustee scholarship program visionary. "The Dartmouth-Hitchcock Board and leadership should be recognized for this tangible commitment to transforming and improving health care. They recognize that this investment will have benefits for our entire institution and most importantly, for our patients."

As a graduate of the TDI program, Weinstein said, "What I learned at TDI impacts my life and my work as a surgeon and a researcher every day.  I welcome my talented colleagues into the graduate program and hope it will be an equally life-changing experience for them."

For more information contact Deborah Kimbell at 802-236-6934 or

Back to News