Skip to main content
Dartmouth-Hitchcock logo
Home / For Patients & Visitors / D-H Stories / Weinstein Honored with Ellis Island Medal of Honor
In This Section

Weinstein Honored with Ellis Island Medal of Honor

Weinstein Honored with Ellis Island Medal of Honor

Photo: D-H CEO and President Dr. Jim Weinstein and wife Mimi at the May 9 gala honoring Dr. Weinstein as a recipient of the annual Ellis Island Medal of Honor (Photo courtesy NECO)

Dartmouth-Hitchcock CEO and President Dr. Jim Weinstein was among 90 honorees who received the 29th annual Ellis Island Medal of Honor from the National Ethnic Coalition of Organizations (NECO) at a gala celebration in New York May 9.

The Ellis Island Medal of Honor embodies the spirit of America in its celebration of patriotism, tolerance, brotherhood, and diversity. NECO recognizes individuals who have made it their mission to share with those less fortunate their wealth of knowledge, indomitable courage, boundless compassion, unique talents, and selfless generosity; all while maintaining the traditions of their ethnic heritage as they uphold the ideals and spirit of America.

"This is an extraordinary group of Americans, and I'm humbled to be included," said Weinstein. "This is a tremendous honor for me, but it also reflects on all of us at Dartmouth-Hitchcock, where our culture of caring is the foundation of the work we do for our patients and their families."

Joining Weinstein among this year's honorees were US Supreme Court Justice Sandra Day O'Connor, Nobel Prize winner Dr. Bert Sakmann, former Apple CEO John Sculley, talk show host Meredith Vieira, Mayo Clinic oncologist Dr. Edward T. Creagan, New York Yankees pitcher Mariano Rivera, pediatric surgeon and World Surgical Foundation founder Dr. Domingo T. Alvear, and  12 members of the U.S. military.

"NECO seeks to inspire America to embrace diversity, tolerance and respect for all of its citizens by celebrating those who have given so much of themselves to the betterment of our nation and our world," said NECO Chairman Nasser J. Kazeminy. "Each of these honorees represents traits that I admire in great Americans: the vision of a better world for all, the tenacity to overcome challenges, and the leadership and imagination to blaze their own trail. They inspire me and we honor them so they can inspire others as well."

NECO remains dedicated to the maintenance and restoration of America's greatest symbol of its immigrant history, Ellis Island. Since the Medal was founded in 1986, NECO has honored a distinguished and diverse group of Americans including six Presidents of the United States, Nobel Prize recipient Elie Wiesel, Generals Norman Schwarzkopf and Colin Powell, Hillary Rodham Clinton, Sen. John McCain, Muhammad Ali, Frank Sinatra, Barbara Walters, Mike Wallace, Quincy Jones, and Mia Farrow.

The U.S. Senate and House of Representatives have officially recognized the Ellis Island Medals of Honor, and each year the recipients are listed in the Congressional Record.