Leader Team

T32 Program Leaders

Mary Brunette, MD
PI and Program Director, Steering Committee Chair

Dr. Brunette is Professor of Psychiatry, Prof of Community and Family Medicine (CFM), Prof. of The Dartmouth Institute (TDI), Director of the Community Engagement Core of SYNERGY, and Medical Director of the Bureau of Mental Health Services for the NH Dept. of Health and Human Services. Dr. Brunette has successfully mentored over 20 early-career investigators. She has led a Behavioral Health Research Seminar for 15 years and has taught residents in primary care and psychiatry for 20 years. Her research interests include effectiveness of health behavior change interventions, treatment for addiction (tobacco, alcohol, cannabis) among patients with multi-morbidity, applied health technology, implementation science applications in public health policy, and integration of mental health and primary care. In addition to participating in 6 active National Institute of Health (NIH) and Patient Centered Outcomes Research Institute (PCORI) trials, she leads a large Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)-funded project evaluating integrated community mental health and primary care.

Martha Bruce, PhD, MPH
Program Co-Director

Martha Bruce, PhD, MPH (Program Co-Director) is Prof. of Psychiatry, CFM, and TDI and Vice Chair of Research in Psychiatry. She has served as PI of three NIH-funded (R25) research mentoring programs, has served as primary mentor to 13 NIH K awardees, and has directed/co-directed 4 NIH T32 training programs. She served on the steering committee of this T32, led weekly seminars, met with most Fellows to provide secondary research mentoring and was primary mentor for 2 Fellows. Her NIH-funded research focuses on integrating mental health into primary care for older adults and on implementation strategies to deliver evidence-based interventions in community settings.

Cathleen Morrow, MD
Program Co-Director

Dr. Morrow is Past Chair and Associate Prof. of CFM. Maintaining an active practice, she teaches residents and medical students in clinical family medicine and shared decision-making skills. She has been CFM predoctoral director since 2008 and has extensive experience mentoring students. She was elected a Master Educator of the School of Medicine in 2013. She was past PI of our T32, and has mentored all Fellows on overall career development.

James Stahl MD, MPH
Program Co-Director

Dr. Stahl is Associate Prof. and past Section Chief for General Internal Medicine. He is a long-practicing clinician, decision scientist, operations researcher, and technologist. He is an active teacher and has mentored over 20 early investigators. His research has focused on clinical system innovation, access to care, and implementing change using system engineering tools, new technologies, and inter-disciplinary collaboration. He is an expert in systems analysis and engineering, telemedicine, cost-effectiveness analysis, and outcomes research.

Dorothy Barker, BS
T32 Program Coordinator and Evaluator

Mrs. Barker leads the coordination and evaluation of the T32 program.  She is also the Program Coordinator for the Dartmouth CO-OP Primary Care Practice-based Research Network. She is responsible for coordinating all T32 activities, including linking fellows to training and research resources within the Dartmouth system and nationally, tracking T32 activities, ensuring that the program is working steadily on program goals, and developing and submitting reports and other communications to HRSA.